It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:21 am


How Do You Do That? - Forum tech help

Forum Guidelines, registration and general info including FeedBack and Tech help and Testing sections. Please read before posting.

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby onlyalways » Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:32 pm

How to make a GIF using Adobe Imageready CS2

This is a tutorial (my first! Hopefully it is understandable, ha) on how to make a standard gif using Imageready. The program does cost money, but I got it for free when I downloaded a trial for Photoshop CS2. CS4 is out now, so the program format may be different.

You will need:

- Imageready
- A video file that contains the clip you want to GIF. (.mov and .avi files I know should work. You may have trouble if its in a more uncommon video file)

Ok, so lets get started.

I am going to gif the gang popping and locking together in the "Friends" music video.

http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/7007/picture01.png
When you open the program, it should look like this. Make sure these windows are checked and open.


http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/8498/picture02j.png
Open and select the video file.


http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/1623/picture03.png
This window should pop up.


http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/7347/picture04.png
If you want to gif the entire video (it would have to be 10 seconds at most!) You want "From beginning to end"

If not, you want to click "Selected Range only".

"Limit to Every 2nd frame" function will use every other frame of the selected clip. 24 and 30 frames is the standard frame rate for any movie or tv show. 12-15 frames a second will still give the illusion of movement. The point of this is to reduce the size of the file.

If the clip is 1-2 seconds, you don't have to click this function. But if it is over 2 seconds, I suggest to use this.


http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/5981/picture05.png
This video is the length of the episode, so it takes a minute or two to find the clip.


http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/6175/picture06.png
Park the curser about a second before the clip you want. Press and hold down the "Shift" key and then press "Play". When it plays through the clip you want to gif, press "Pause" and then let go of "Shift".

When this is done, press "Ok".


http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/5954/picture07.png
Now you should see this. The top window is the video, and the bottom, long window is the Animation window which contains all of your frames. I'll explain the optimize window later.


http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/1866/picture08.png
Since we puposely captured a bit of video at the beginning of the clip, you want to select the unwanted frames in the beginning.


http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/8768/picture09.png
And you want to do the same at the tale of the clip too.


http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/407/picture10.png
Now we have the clip we want, frame by frame.


http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/9615/picture11x.png
If you chose the "Limit to Every 2nd frame" function (in this video I did) you have an extra step. Select every frame in the Animation window. Right under the small pictures, there is a number. This shows the specific frame's duration. Since this is a video, we want all of the frames to have the same number.

For this, all of the frames last .04 of a second. But we have to remember that half of the frames were taken out. So we want to double the duration of every frame. If we don't do this, the ending gif will be sped up by X2 compared to the original video.


http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/4233/picture12qmh.png
Select the number and click "Other..."


http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/2610/picture13vst.png
I changed the duration from ".04" to ".07" I normally double the number, and take off .01. So if it was ".03", I'll change it to ".05" or ".06" This is will give the gif a more fluid motion.

Click "Ok."


http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/381/picture14d.png
Once done, all of the frames' duration will be changed to ".07". Now we want to change the size of the image. This will give the gif better resolution and reduce the overall size.


http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/425/picture15s.png
Right now the image is 624 by 352 pixels.


http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/4548/picture16b.png
I normally change the width to 400.
Make sure "Contrain Proportions" is checked.


http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/8968/picture17m.png
Now the image is smaller.


http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/135/picture19h.png
Now select the "2up" tab in the video window.The left represent the original video file. The right represents the gif image. Under the right gif image, it saids:
GIF
File size

For this, is reads 1.559M, so 1.6 MB. This is pretty good, I try not to go over 2 MB in size.


http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/8869/picture18o.png
This is the optimize window. Here is a list of options on how to reduce the size even further be limiting the colors and how the the gif is colored. I'll show you a few fast ways to do this.


http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9308/picture21h.png
Right now I am using 256 colors. The less colors you use, the less quality the gif becomes, but it will also make the size smaller.


http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/3017/picture22x.png
Dither is how the colors are used. Diffusion normally gives the best picture. The other options usually gives the image a less "crisp" look, but again, this will reduce the size.

There are a few other functions in this window too. You kinda just have to mess with them on your own to see what will give the better picture, without making the size of the gif too large.


http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/1728/picture23q.png
Now it is time to save!


http://img16.imageshack.us/img16/8021/zending.png
Now there should be a gif file of your clip. Open it in Quicktime to watch it in all its glory. Click the Loop function, to watch it looped like it would be on the internetz.

Then just upload to an image hosting guide, and you're done!

Hopefully this made sense and helped! Let me know if you have any questions.

Image
onlyalways
Keeping it funky
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:33 am

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby Nancy » Mon Mar 16, 2009 7:26 am

Only, thank you so much for all your hard work!! That is a masterpiece of a tutorial!! :clap:
Oh, fish-like Lady
Lady-like Fish
I don't think so Bro, she's a Lady, Lady, Lady, Lady
No, no, she's a fish that's just a little bit
La-dy-ish! Yeah!
User avatar
Nancy
Persona Non Regatta
 
Posts: 9655
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 9:40 pm
Location: Hope Valley, RI, USA

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby TheFool » Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:24 am

This just in: depth!

thanks, this will be most useful when my brother downloads all that free adobe software from his fancy college-place.
Talkin' about the thyroid
Image
User avatar
TheFool
Half a shapely halibut
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:34 am
Location: Outside

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby mohumbhai mania » Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:10 pm

Hey, has anyone tried doing GIFs off Gimp for the Mac?

Inquiring and cheap minds need to know.

thanks in advance!
Too much time on too many hands - too many ladies, not enough mans

Image

I am bike-cheese!
User avatar
mohumbhai mania
Can Attack!
 
Posts: 3771
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:24 pm
Location: Murrayland

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby Sherry » Mon Mar 16, 2009 11:30 pm

mohumbhai mania wrote:Hey, has anyone tried doing GIFs off Gimp for the Mac?

Inquiring and cheap minds need to know.

thanks in advance!


I did with Gimp in Linux, so don't see why you can't on a Mac
Sherry
Professional Blonde
 
Posts: 4478
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:57 am

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby kellysouthpaw » Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:40 am

I'm hoping that also means you can do it on GIMP for Windows...

*crosses fingers* :pray:
Image
User avatar
kellysouthpaw
She's like Switzerland
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 4:52 am
Location: In a Cottage Cheese Cottage in Michigan

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby mohumbhai mania » Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:42 pm

Thanks, Sherry! I'll report back.

BTW, since my mail doesn't seem to working so hot, did you get that Jem interview file I sent you?

aha! Now to experiment tonight. *puts on mad scientist lab coat*
Too much time on too many hands - too many ladies, not enough mans

Image

I am bike-cheese!
User avatar
mohumbhai mania
Can Attack!
 
Posts: 3771
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:24 pm
Location: Murrayland

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby Sherry » Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:30 pm

I did thanks. Just not gotten a chance to reply and say thanks.

So bad at email and stuff.
Sherry
Professional Blonde
 
Posts: 4478
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:57 am

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby mohumbhai mania » Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:32 pm

Don't sweat it, just glad you got the stuff! :D
Too much time on too many hands - too many ladies, not enough mans

Image

I am bike-cheese!
User avatar
mohumbhai mania
Can Attack!
 
Posts: 3771
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:24 pm
Location: Murrayland

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby dandy lyons » Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:45 am

onlyalways wrote:How to make a GIF using Adobe Imageready CS2

This is a tutorial (my first! Hopefully it is understandable, ha) on how to make a standard gif using Imageready.

This is fantastic!! thanks so much onlyalways! High five for you! *high five*
:thumb: Can't wait to have a go!
Gar·funk·ling (verb) Funky cuddling with the candles twinkling.
User avatar
dandy lyons
Consistently Mediocre
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 7:52 am
Location: Vancouver

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby Chavoc » Sun Mar 29, 2009 8:24 pm

Val2150 wrote:Hi again guys - could someone tell me how to access my browser's cache to save the Amoeba concert file? (I'm using Firefox on a Mac if that makes any difference.) Thanks a bunch! :)

Oh, and boo to the eaten posts.


I dont use firefox anymore, but if i remember correctly it will be:

Go to the address bar (where you usually type in a URL like http://whatthefolk.net
instead write this, and only this

Code: Select all
about:cache


that should give you either the cache, or maybe 2 links to the different kinds of caches, memory and disk. you might need to look in both. Memory cache is more recent. Disk is stored even after you close your browser.





-----------------


For hosting images: http://imageshack.us is one of the best places to do it. It give you the forum code to post the image, just like photobucket, but also it doesnt give you those "bandwidth exceeded" images when you have loaded the image too many times. Much easier to upload too. No need for an account.
Chavoc
New arrival
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby Carol » Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:41 pm

Nancy I'm about to make you feel like a computer genius when I pose my stupid question. Ready to feel superior? Okay.

What is "cache"? I did the "about:cache" thing as directed above. I saw it, but really have no idea what it means.

Now, don't you feel better about yourself, Nancy? :yawinkle:
Image
User avatar
Carol
Registered Rhymnecologist
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 11:16 pm
Location: between the make-believe trees

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby Spumony5000 » Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:26 pm

It's like temporary storage of data that is accessed a lot. Basically I think the computer stores data of places you go a lot and loads up the cache instead of loading the original file. For instance last night I was trying to post a picture and although I resized it in photo bucket when I would preview my post the picture looked huge. So I cleared my cache out and refreshed the post and then it showed up the right size.
Do you want to borrow my jumper Bowie?

Image
User avatar
Spumony5000
Stop touching the monkeys
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:13 pm
Location: NY

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby Chavoc » Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:54 pm

That is exactly right. The web browsers do this to help things feel faster. Usually they pick files that wont likely change too much.

Memory Cache for a browser: This is temporary. It stays as long as you have your browser open. It is for things that have a chance of changing, but wont likely change in the next couple of minutes.

Disk Cache for a browser: This is more permanent (you usually need to delete this one on your own if you are having issues with somthing not updating when it should.) This stores files on your hard drive and is reserved for files that wont likely change in the long term.

A cache is only so big, so as more stuff is shoved in, unused stuff is deleted automatically.
Chavoc
New arrival
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: How Do You Do That?

Postby Nancy » Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:11 am

What they said, Carol. :nod:
Sure, I knew that. :roll:

*tries to look as though she knows what she's talking about* :rolleyes:

Thanks for your informative answers, everyone. :prayer:
Oh, fish-like Lady
Lady-like Fish
I don't think so Bro, she's a Lady, Lady, Lady, Lady
No, no, she's a fish that's just a little bit
La-dy-ish! Yeah!
User avatar
Nancy
Persona Non Regatta
 
Posts: 9655
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 9:40 pm
Location: Hope Valley, RI, USA

PreviousNext

Return to Forum Guidelines, registration and general info

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests